Day 4: “Steve, pay attention!”

4 songs in, Bruce was already pulling out his second sign for the night. Stevie thought it was fine to quickly turn around and grab a drink. But Bruce stood there holding the sign for “Two Hearts” for about 30 seconds trying to get Steve’s attention before finally yelling “Steve, pay attention!”. That pretty much set the tone for one of the most incredible E Street Band nights there’s been in this country.

The second the band came out, you knew it was going to be a good night. Garry W Tallent had been restored to his rightful place at the front of the stage, and everything just seemed “on”. Badlands is a standard opener, but then Out In The Street? Two Hearts? Light of Day? Wow! And we’re only 7 songs in! People around me were just looking shocked at the songs he was pulling out.

Image

It took him an hour to get to the crowdsurfing. Nils’ spinning solo was during an amazing Youngstown. Bruce destroyed the solo during Light of Day. Stevie was on fire all night. And during the roll call for the band, Bruce completely forgot about Nils! Everything about the night was just unpredictable and completely off the wall. They were doing what the E Street Band does best. Classic rock and roll where you have no idea what’s coming.

Image

Sadly, as I thought it would be, last night was the night with the most flogs in an audience I’ve seen at a Bruce gig. With it being the first gig in Perth ever to go on sale, every man and his dog bought a ticket. I saw people being thrown out for fighting (who the hell fights at a Springsteen gig?) and a lot of the “PLAY GLORY DAYS” crowd. Unfortunate, but inevitable. Hopefully the audience tonight is more civil.

Image

Image

So that’s 55 songs in 2 nights, and only 14 of them being played both nights. Anyone still wondering why I’m doing the entire tour!? Also after last night I went and got a number in the roll call for tonight, a good one too. But after getting back to my room my right foot still sadly isn’t up to it. I could’ve tried but I’m mindful of the long game and the fact I’ve still got 11 more gigs to go. There’s time. Plus standing up the back again last night has let me start a new list:

E-Street Band Members I’ve High-Fived/Patted on the back:
Bruce Springsteen
Nils Lofgren
Jake Clemons
Curtis Gates
Cindy Mizelle
Curt Ramm
Clark Gayton

How long will that list be before the end of the tour? Only one way to find out! Bring on tonight!

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Tagged , , , , , , ,

Leave a comment